Digital Retail Bank

Easypaisa Latest News & Updates

Part of PakFinHub's Easypaisa coverage — dated, sourced updates on ownership, partnerships, and product launches.

  • Sourced & Dated
  • Not a Live Feed

Quick answer: the most recent Easypaisa development is its H1 2026 results (August 25, 2026), reporting profit before tax of PKR 8.26 billion. Shortly before that, a Shariah-compliant Umrah Savings Plan launched on August 20, and Easypaisa publicly denied a viral claim of a new 2% bank-to-wallet transfer fee on August 10 — worth knowing if you've seen that claim circulating. Further back, the still-unresolved June 2026 Telenor stake-sale exploration remains the largest ownership story in play.

Easypaisa's confirmed announcements — ownership developments, partnerships, product launches, and app updates — are logged below, each dated and sourced. This is manually maintained rather than an automated feed, so a fresh announcement can sit unlisted for a while; check the Last Verified date for how current it is, and treat Easypaisa's own official website and social channels as the live source in the meantime.

2026 Updates

June 5, 2026

Telenor Explores Sale of Its 55% Easypaisa Stake

Bloomberg reported that Telenor ASA is exploring the sale of its 55% controlling stake in Easypaisa Bank, working with Citigroup on the process; a deal was reported as potentially worth several hundred million dollars. Ant Group's 45% stake was not reported to be part of the sale. Coverage at the time noted this would follow Telenor's completed exit from Pakistan's telecom sector (the sale of Telenor Pakistan to PTCL Group) and cited unnamed sources describing the process as early-stage, with no final decision or buyer confirmed. Treat this as an ongoing, unresolved situation rather than a completed transaction — see our Bank Overview page for how this fits into Easypaisa's ownership structure.

Source: Bloomberg, June 5, 2026, as reported by Business Recorder, Daily Times, and ProPakistani.

June 11, 2026

Brief Service Disruption Affects Some Users

Easypaisa experienced an intermittent service disruption affecting some users' ability to access the app and complete transactions. The bank confirmed customer funds remained fully safe and secure throughout, and announced full restoration shortly after. This is included here for completeness of the 2026 timeline, not as an ongoing issue — see our Helpline & Complaints page if you're troubleshooting a current access problem.

Source: ProPakistani, June 11, 2026, and Easypaisa's own official social media confirmation of the disruption and subsequent restoration.

June 24, 2026

NCCIA Opens Inquiry Into Misleading Social Media Content Targeting Easypaisa

Pakistan's National Cyber Crime Investigation Agency (NCCIA) opened an inquiry into misleading social media content targeting Easypaisa Bank Limited. This is a reminder that not everything circulating about Easypaisa online is accurate — verify anything alarming against Easypaisa's official channels or our Helpline & Complaints page before acting on it.

Source: ProPakistani, June 24, 2026.

June 30, 2026

Easypaisa to Digitize Payments Across Servis Shoes Stores Nationwide

Easypaisa Digital Bank announced a partnership to digitize the in-store payment experience across Servis Shoes outlets nationwide, extending its merchant/QR payment footprint into a major national retail chain.

Source: ProPakistani, June 30, 2026.

July 2026

Easypaisa & EFU Life Launch Digital Islamic Takaful Savings

Easypaisa Digital Bank partnered with EFU Life Assurance to launch a fully digital Islamic Takaful savings product inside the Easypaisa app, letting users save while earning Shariah-compliant returns reported at up to 8% annually, bundled with Takaful protection. Easypaisa said the launch builds on its existing digital insurance offerings and cited a user base of more than 60 million registered users at the time of the announcement.

Source: Easypaisa and EFU Life joint announcement, reported by Digital Pakistan, July 2026.

July–August 2026

App Update — Multiple Accounts on One CNIC & Digital Joint Accounts

Recent Easypaisa app releases (version 2.10.x) added the ability to create and manage multiple accounts on a single CNIC, and to open joint accounts digitally within the app, alongside routine security and performance improvements. See our Create an Account page for the current sign-up flow.

Source: Easypaisa app release notes (Google Play / Aptoide listings), July–August 2026.

March 11, 2026

FY2025 Results: Profit After Tax Surges to Rs. 17.04 Billion

Easypaisa Digital Bank's Board approved audited financial statements for the year ended December 31, 2025, reporting Profit After Tax of PKR 17.04 billion (up from PKR 3.41 billion in 2024) and EPS of PKR 28.47. The registered user base surpassed 59 million, with monthly active users reaching 20 million. Customer deposits reached PKR 127.7 billion, up 67.6% over 2024. The bank attributed the bulk of the PAT/EPS jump to a one-off recognition of PKR 10.79 billion in deferred tax from previously unabsorbed tax depreciation and losses, on top of underlying sustainable profitability — worth knowing before reading the headline PAT figure as pure operating growth.

Source: Business Recorder, March 11, 2026, reporting the Board-approved audited FY2025 financial statements.

August 10, 2026

Easypaisa Denies Viral Claim of a New 2% Bank-to-Wallet Transfer Fee

Easypaisa publicly rejected social media claims that it had introduced a 2% service charge on funds transferred from bank accounts into Easypaisa wallets, calling the reports false and misleading. The company confirmed transfers into an Easypaisa wallet remain free and said no new 2% fee has been introduced on incoming bank-to-wallet transfers. Coverage noted the confusion may stem from unrelated charges listed elsewhere in Easypaisa's published Schedule of Charges for certain other account-linking or funding methods, which are separate from ordinary incoming wallet transfers. If you see a claim like this circulating, verify it against Easypaisa's official channels rather than social media — see our Account Blocked & Fraud page for how to spot and report misinformation-driven scams.

Source: ProPakistani, August 10, 2026, and Bloom Pakistan, August 11, 2026, both citing Easypaisa's official denial.

July 1, 2026

PACRA Upgrades Easypaisa's Long-Term Rating to "AA-"

The Pakistan Credit Rating Agency (PACRA) upgraded Easypaisa Digital Bank's long-term entity rating to "AA-" while reaffirming its short-term rating at "A1," citing the bank's strengthened financial profile, sound asset quality, and robust capitalisation.

Source: The Nation, August 25, 2026, reporting PACRA's July 1, 2026 rating action as part of Easypaisa's H1 2026 results coverage.

August 20, 2026

Easypaisa & 5th Pillar Family Takaful Launch Shariah-Compliant Umrah Savings Plan

Easypaisa partnered with 5th Pillar Family Takaful to launch the 5th Pillar Family Takaful Umrah Savings Plan, a Shariah-compliant savings and protection product letting customers save toward Umrah. An integrated partnership with 5th Pillar Travel (Private) Limited provides end-to-end travel facilitation on maturity, including visa processing, flights, accommodation, and ziarat arrangements. Easypaisa President & CEO Jahanzeb Khan framed the launch as part of the bank's growing Islamic finance and Takaful portfolio.

Source: Business Recorder, August 20, 2026, and Mettis Global News, August 19, 2026.

August 25, 2026

H1 2026 Results: Profit Before Tax of Rs. 8.26 Billion

Easypaisa Digital Bank's Board approved financial statements for the half-year ended June 30, 2026, reporting profit before tax (PBT) of PKR 8.26 billion and profit after tax (PAT) of PKR 5.78 billion — a 2.27x increase in PBT over the same period last year. Total revenue rose 30.5% year-on-year, with net markup income up 32.46% on lending-portfolio and treasury-investment growth. Capital adequacy ratio stood at 23.75%, well above the regulatory minimum. CEO Jahanzeb Khan attributed the results to sustained growth across core business streams.

Source: The Nation, August 25, 2026, reporting the Board-approved H1 2026 financial statements.

Latest News FAQs

Is Telenor selling Easypaisa?

Telenor confirmed in June 2026 that it is exploring the sale of its 55% controlling stake in Easypaisa Bank, working with Citigroup on the process. Ant Group's 45% stake is not reported to be part of the sale. No final decision or buyer had been confirmed as of the last verification date on this page.

Did Easypaisa introduce a new 2% fee on bank transfers?

No. Easypaisa publicly denied this claim on August 10, 2026, calling it false and misleading. Transfers into an Easypaisa wallet remain free, and no new 2% fee has been introduced on incoming bank-to-wallet transfers, per Easypaisa's official statement.

Is my Easypaisa account affected by the Telenor stake sale?

Not directly. A change in shareholding does not by itself change your account, balance, or SBP-regulated status as a digital bank customer. Any material change affecting customers would be separately communicated by Easypaisa and disclosed to the State Bank of Pakistan.

How often is this Easypaisa news page updated?

Whenever a new, source-verified Easypaisa announcement is confirmed — this is not an automated feed, so check the Last Verified date for how current it is.

Official Sources & Last Verified

Each item above is individually sourced and dated where a date is available. Last verified: September 3, 2026. This is a manually maintained log, not a live feed — treat Easypaisa's official website and social channels as the source of truth for anything more recent.

Good For

  • Catching up on Easypaisa's recent ownership and partnership developments in one place
  • Understanding the Telenor stake-sale process without mistaking speculation for a done deal
  • Jumping to the detailed page behind any single announcement

Ready to use Easypaisa?

Verify current rates, limits, and terms directly with Easypaisa before you apply.

Similar Banks

More on Easypaisa

Debit Card

Visa, UnionPay, PayPak & virtual card types, fees, and ordering.

Bill Payment

Electricity, gas, water, and other bills — steps and fees.